Driscoll’s (2007) model for reflective writing is composed of 7 stages. These are actions, each followed by points of reflection, beginning with a learning experience. … This may be during a teaching session (such as a seminar or workshop) or an experience that happens on professional placement.


The Nursing and Midwifery Council NMC (2018) requires that all nurses use their feedback as an opportunity for reflection and learning as it can improve their practice. … Reflection helps us develop skills and knowledge and also helps us maintain and develop throughout our career

Guide to models of reflection – when & why should you use…

  • “Difficult, but important”
  • Gibbs reflective cycle (1988)
  • Kolb reflective cycle (1984)
  • Schön model (1991)
  • Driscoll model (1994)
  • Rolfe et al’s Framework for Reflexive Learning (2001)
  • Johns’ Model for Structured Reflection (2006)


Often reflective pieces are written in the first person (e.g., ‘I’, ‘we’, ‘me’, and ‘us’). Example: “There are a couple of ways I can improve to contribute to my group positively