Cultural beliefs shape social norms and values surrounding the aging process and the role of older people. These beliefs about aging are not static—they shift and change as society evolves. … We then explore positive and negative aging myths that perpetuate ageism and their impact on older adult

is that ageing is (australia|new zealand|british) the process of becoming older or more mature while age is the whole duration of a being, whether animal, vegetable, or other kind; lifetime

Old age may be defined as the stage from age 65 until death. During this stage, most people retire from work and no longer have the major responsibility of caring for others. Physically, older adults tend to have a decline in stamina, strength, reflex time, and the senses


Individuals from each cultural context internalize cultural values with age. These internalized cultural values become goals that guide adult development. When individuals from different cultures each pursue their own goals with age, cultural differences in socioemotional aging occur

Experts generally break down the ageing process into 5 stages:

  • Stage 1: Independence.
  • Stage 2: Interdependence.
  • Stage 3: Dependency.
  • Stage 4: Crisis Management.
  • Stage 5: End of Life.